Managing Authoriser Access for Applications

School Principals and TAFE Business Unit Managers must grant themselves application Authoriser access by selecting Access Management Utility within AMU. They may wish to delegate this access to other staff members at their site. This will enable the delegates to grant Authoriser and User access for selected applications to other staff at their site.

The information is displayed as a table which shows staff members at a site in the left-hand column and the applications along the top.

Touching the cursor on a tick box for any staff member on any application will show the name of the Authoriser function that can be assigned, eg. ET4L Authoriser Profile.

Figure 1 - Shows ET4L Authoriser displayed in Access Management Utility

../_images/indexscreen.png

Filters can be used to include or exclude teachers and non-teachers and to display the staff members’ positions by ticking or unticking the boxes. Refer to Using the Filters in Application Management Screens.

Important

  • ALL ticks MUST be removed from a staff member *BEFORE* they leave your site - while their name is still in your AMU list.
  • Otherwise, the staff member will retain application access to your site after they have left and if they are not listed in ‘View & Add Staff not at this site’ staff list then a Service Desk Incident will need to be logged to have this access removed.

Allocating Authoriser Access

From Access Management Utility Home page:

  • Select a Location, then select the Radio button beside AMU and click Next

  • Find the staff member to whom you wish to give Authoriser access:

    1. Tick AMU Authoriser box to grant the ability to create Authorisers for the AMU application at that location
    2. Tick any other application Authoriser box to grant the ability to give Authoriser and User access for that application to other staff at their site – See Managing User Access for Other Applications

NoteApplication Authorisers can delegate Authoriser access to other staff at their site by ticking the Authoriser box for these staff within AMU.

Ticking boxes

  • A green box indicates success.
  • A red box indicates failure. Try again, and if still unsuccessful, report the exact wording of the error message to the ICT Service Desk.

Note

  • Application Authoriser access does NOT allow the person to USE the actual application.
  • To set up rights to use one of the applications, instead of selecting AMU on the initial screen, select the required application and you will then see the relevant access rights. Refer to Managing Access for Other Applications.

Figure 2 - Shows example of Access Management Utility with Authoriser boxes ticked.

../_images/indexexample.png

In the figure above:

  • AMU Authoriser access - allows a staff member to give other staff members at the same location, and themselves, Authoriser access for any application.
  • Additionally, AMU Authorisers can delegate AMU Authoriser access to other staff members at the same location
  • Authoriser access for any other application allows a staff member to assign access to other staff members at the same location to Use any application

Removing Authoriser Access

  • To remove access, click the check box to remove the tick.
  • A green box indicates success.
  • A red box indicates failure. Try again, and if still unsuccessful, report the exact wording of the error message to the ICT Service Desk.

Note

  • All changes are made in real-time
  • As changes are being made, the database records are being updated and the access is being allowed or removed

If staff are logged into AMU when access is added or removed, they can simply refresh their browsers to see the access level change. Otherwise, they will need to log out of the DoE Staff Portal and log back in.

Important

  • All AMU access should be removed BEFORE the staff member leaves your site and while their name is still in the AMU list for your site.
  • Otherwise, the staff member will retain application access at your site after they have left and a Service Desk Incident will need to be logged to have this removed.